Do not love this world!

 This world has nothing to offer the Christian. Do we really believe that. If we do, we will show it in the way we live for Christ!When I say world, I am speaking of worldliness. Read 1Jn.2:15-17. This means sin. I can even take good things, like hunting and fishing, and hiking. And if they become my desire over God, they become my God, that is sin. So when I say world, …it is the desires of the flesh and the desires of the eyes and pride in possessions-is not from the father but is from the world. (1Jn.2:16) Also it says in Deut.5:7 “You shall have no other gods before me.” so look at it this way NOTHING CAN COME BEFORE GOD. Also I am to love my family! But not more than God (read Matt.10:37 “whoever loves father or mother more than me is not worthy of me, and whoever loves son or daughter more than me is not worthy of me.”) Jesus said this! This sounds radical, but this is how it should be. But if I put God first I will be the “family man” I need to be. And when We pick up our cross and follow Him, and put nothing before Him, we will be that light in the dark, we will what to show mercy and proclaim the Gospel to the lost, and  love  other believers! But always remember, living the Christian life will cost you something. Let us be set apart from this world!
About pastorcook

I pastor a small baptist church and love to study the Bible and study the Puritans. I also have a great desire to spread the gospel,and teach the Bible to believers, as they grow in the personal relationship they have we the Lord. View all posts by pastorcook

Leave a Reply

