God is Everywhere

 

 As I sit on the patio of our beach house, I see people walking by, even jogging by. A thought came to mine. “I wonder if they are looking this way, if they see me; If they do see me, do they really care?” As a Christian I live a life that is concerned with taking care of my family; trying to meet their physical and spiritual needs. I work a secular job; I also pastor a church, so much to do! This is the point I would like to make. As I live my life, do I live it with the right view: the view that God is everywhere, and I can’t run from Him or hide from Him? He is ever present in all that I do: working, pasturing, raising my children. Or do I live my life as if God is not there, and the only time He will appear is when I have my devotion time, or when I am in church, or when I am telling someone about Jesus. This would be wrong, because God is not only in those places. Look what King David said in Ps.139:1-5 “O LORD, you have searched me and known me! You know when I sit down and when I rise up; you discern my thoughts from afar. You search out my path and my lying down and are acquainted with all my ways. Even before a word is on my tongue, behold, O LORD, you know it altogether. You hem me in, behind and before, and lay your hand upon me.” So we see God is everywhere and we cannot keep anything from Him. He knows all our personal thoughts and all our ways!

 So I should live a life devoted unto God, aware that He is Creator and I am the creature. Look at what it says in Job.37:22 “Out of the north comes golden splendor; God is clothed with awesome majesty.” Also King David said it like this in Ps.139:7-9 “Where shall I go from your Spirit? Or where shall I flee from your presence? If I ascend to heaven, you are there! If I make my bed in Sheol, you are there! If I take the wings of the morning and dwell in the uttermost parts of the sea, even there your hand shall lead me, and your right hand shall hold me.” This is the proper view of God! This should affect our lives as believers! Let us not live this Christian life as those passing by; but in full view of God. Let our passion be Him! Living this way will heighten your awareness of sin. Look at what it says in Ps.139:23-24 “Search me, O God, and know my heart! Try me and know my thoughts! And see if there be any grievous way in me, and lead me in the way everlasting.” King David sees how big God is and says “search me.” That is the desire in us because we are his children, wanting to get things right and not to sin; looking for it and not wanting it there! That is when we are living like God is everywhere, right in the middle of our lives.

About pastorcook

I pastor a small baptist church and love to study the Bible and study the Puritans. I also have a great desire to spread the gospel,and teach the Bible to believers, as they grow in the personal relationship they have we the Lord. View all posts by pastorcook

Leave a Reply

