The desire of a Pastor

 “Shepherd the flock of God that is among you, exercising oversight, not under compulsion, but willingly, as God would have you; not for shameful gain, but eagerly; not domineering over those in your charge, but being examples to the flock.”- 1Pet.5:2-3

 I preached my first sermon at New Covenant Baptist Church this Sunday morning. I was humbled and excited to proclaim the Gospel that God has called me to do. As I looked out at the people that I shepherd, I have a desire for their souls! How I want to be part of there lives! How I want to see them grow in the Lord! How I want to see salvation! It takes time to get to know people, but my desire is to pour my life into these people. How will I do this? I have to look back at the Scriptures to get my answers. And 1Pet.5:2-3 reminds me how. I see these four things from the text.

1.I am to Shepherd: “Shepherd the flock of God that is among you.” This means I am to tend the flock, guarding them, guiding them through the teaching and preaching of the Bible (Jn.21:15-17). Watching out for there souls (Acts.20:28-30).

2. I am not to be lazy: “Exercising oversight, not under compulsion, but willingly, as God would have you.” I need to see the importance of the call in my life so I never become dull and never hold back from doing God’s work (1Cor.9:16).

3. I am not to do it for the wrong reasons: “Not for shameful gain, but eagerly.” As I pastor, I am not to do it for the money, or try to take other people’s money, being dishonest. And I am to serve cheerfuly (1Tim.6:9-11).

4. I am not to be one who leads by manipulation or intimidation: “Not domineering over those in your charge, but being examples to the flock.” I am to lead the flock in a way of meekness standing on the Word of God, leading the way by the way I live my life (1Tim.4:12).

About pastorcook

I pastor a small baptist church and love to study the Bible and study the Puritans. I also have a great desire to spread the gospel,and teach the Bible to believers, as they grow in the personal relationship they have we the Lord. View all posts by pastorcook

One response to “The desire of a Pastor

  • boycrazymom

    I am thankful to have you and Bro. Eric shepherd our family! We are blessed! Thank you for answering the call the Lord put on your heart!
    Praying for you – The Aycock’s

Leave a Reply

