Thirst after God!

Thirst after God

“For deliverance and guidance”

(Psalm 143)

1. The urgent prayer of David (vs.1-2)

2. David expresses his trouble (vs.3-4)

3. David’s thirst for God (5-12)

 

1. The urgent prayer of David (vs.1-2)

a. “Give ear” David wants God’s full attention in his moment of need.

b. “In your faithfulness answer me, in your righteousness.”David’s acknowledgment of the nature and character of God. God is faithful to forgive us of our sin (1 Jon.1:9). David was in a covenant relationship with God, knowing in His righteousness He would deliver him (Psalm 31:1).

c. “For no one living is righteous before you.”David comes before God in a state of humility. David knew when he measured up his heart with God’s judgment, he did not measure up. This is how we should come before God (Job 14:3-4)

2. David expresses his trouble (vs.3-4)

a. “For the enemy has pursued my soul” We see David’s brokenness as his enemies press down on him

b. “There my spirit faints within me; my heart within me is appalled.”Matthew Henry says this “David was not only a great saint, but a great soldier, and yet even he was sometimes ready to faint in the day of adversity.”Like David, all of us at times have trouble come into our life, and we feel like we are at our breaking point. “When I remember God, I moan; when I meditate, my spirit faints.”- Psalm 77:3

3. David’s thirst for God (vs.5-12)

a. “I remember the days of old; I meditate on all you have done.” When trouble comes remember what God has done, this will bring comfort to your tired soul! (Psalm 77:11-14) Some of the things God has done… Creation (Jer.10:12), Miracles of Christ (Luke 11:20), the birth of Christ (Matt.1:18-25) The resurrection of Christ (2 Cor13:4). Also remember what He has done in your life, and all around you.

b. “My soul thirsts for you like a parched land” This is the point of total surrender to God! “My soul thirsts for God, for the living God. When shall I come and appear before God?”-Psalm 42:2

c. V.7 shows David’s desperation for God, this is where we all should be! Lord I need you right now!

We see six keys to complete surrender to God.

1. Listen to God in His complete devotion to us(v.8a)

2. Trust in God, let Him lead you (v.8b)

3. Flee to God for your refuge (v.9)

4. Be teachable so you can do His will (v.10a)

5. Be lead by the Holy Spirit (v.10b)

6. Let God revive us by his Word (v.11)

Application: In our life troubles will come; how will we handle it? Let us turn to God; knowing that as we thirst for Him, He will deliver us, and mature us, drawing us to Him (James 1:2-4) and leading our paths

About pastorcook

I pastor a small baptist church and love to study the Bible and study the Puritans. I also have a great desire to spread the gospel,and teach the Bible to believers, as they grow in the personal relationship they have we the Lord. View all posts by pastorcook

Leave a Reply

